Global Status Report

Renewables 2016 Global Status Report

Titelseite_2016_4f (1)-page-001

GSR Full Report

Download

(PDF – 22 MB)

GSR_english

Key Findings

EN  | FR | ES

(PDF – 5 MB)

2015 was an extraordinary year for renewable energy. Renewables are now cost competitive with fossil fuels in many markets and are established around the world as mainstream sources of energy. Cities, communities and companies are leading the rapidly expanding “100% renewable” movement. Distributed renewable energy is advancing rapidly to close the energy access gap. Read the report and check out REN21’s Renewables Interactive Map for country specific data.

GSR Microsite

Read the full report on-line and access all the reference documents directly.

Participate

Contribute to the next edition of the GSR.

GSR 2016 downloads

 

GSR 2016

  • Download the Full Report :
  • E
  • Download Briefing for Policymakers :
  • E

Infographics

  • Download the infographics :
  • E

 

Press Release

GSR presentation

  • Download the presentation :
  • E

GSR video

  • See the video :
  • E

You are welcome to use the information contained in this report free-of-charge. We ask that you:
1) Include the following citation
REN21, < year of publication > < Name of publication > Paris, REN21 Secretariat
2) Send a copy of the final work to: secretariat@ren21.net

GSR 2016 infographics

REN21 Webinars

Join us to find out what made 2016 another record year for renewables. Learn about how increased additions of solar PV and wind in the electricity sector have driven other energy sectors and how 2015 marks where, for the first time, investment by developing countries surpassed that of industrialised countries.

Domination of Renewables

June 1, 2016

16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 22:00 CST

Learn about how increased additions of PV and wind in the electricity sector have driven other energy sectors.  Discover how the energy and power markets are increasingly affected by renewable energy uptake.  Hear how investment in developing countries surpassed that of industrialised countries for the first time. A special section will look at the evolution of renewables in the North American context.  There will be plenty of time for questions.For further information visit the CESC webinar page. Register here.

The webinar recording is now available here.

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Gregory Wetstone – President & CEO, American Council On Renewable Energy (ACORE)

Renewables Rising:  The role of grid integration

June 30, 2016

2:00 CEST  / 20:00 EDT (29 June)  / 8:00 CST

This webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at renewables and grid integration. China has ordered power transmission companies to provide grid connectivity for all renewable power generation sources and end a bottleneck that has left a large amount of clean power idle. Hear about what this means for renewables in China, the opportunities and challenges, and its significance for the sector as a whole.For further information visit the CESC webinar page.Register here.

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Mr. Li Junfeng– Director General of National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC)

Off-Grid Renewables: Energy Access and Market Opportunity  

July 6, 2016

14:00 CEST  / 8:00 EDT  / 20:00 CST

This webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at off-grid renewables and their role in increasing energy access.  The explosive growth of the sector and the market opportunities that the off-grid sector offers will also be discussed.  For further information visit the CESC webinar page. Register here.

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Kristina Skierka – Campaign Director, Power for All

 

Community Renewable Energy: Citizens involvement in the energy transition

June 16, 2016

9:00 CEST  / 3:00 EDT / 15:00 Beijing

This webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at the role of renewables in the community power.  As REN21’s 2016 report shows, community energy initiatives are increasingly becoming a least-cost option for power supply for households and small businesses, and particularly in rural, off-grid locales.   We will discuss what is needed to support community energy to realise its full potential.Register here.

The webinar recording is available here.

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Dirk Vansintjan – President, REScoop.eu

Global View on Solar Heating and Cooling: Market, Industry and Policy

June 30, 2016

14:00 CEST / 12:00 UTC

The two most comprehensive studies on the Solar Heating and Cooling Sector were published in early June 2016: REN21’s Renewables 2016 Global Status Report (GSR) and Solar Heat Worldwide from the IEA Solar Heating and Cooling programme (IEA SHC). This webinar will highlight the key data and findings of these two studies looking at new installations, prospering applications, market barriers, industry trends, costs of solar heat and jobs. The webinar is jointly organised by REN21 Secretariat and IEA SHC, the Technology Collaboration Programme of the International Energy Agency.The webinar will be moderated by Nigel Cotton, Programme Director at the European Copper Institute and initiator of solarthermalworld.org. Register here.

Speakers: 

Rana Adib– Research Coordinator , REN21 Secretariat

Werner Weiss – Director , AEE INTEC

Bärbel Epp – News Editor, Solarthermalworld.org

The Global Status of Renewable Energy

July 19, 2016

15:00 CEST  / 13:00 GMT

Join us to find out what made 2016 another record year for renewables and for solar in particular.

In 2015 the solar PV market saw a 25% increase over 2014 levels to reach a record 50 GW lifting the global PV total to 227 GW. Solar hot water capacity increased as well with an end of year total of 435 GWth. The webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at the expanding role of solar in the power and heating and cooling sector.

Christine Lins, Executive Secretary of REN21 will highlight the latest data on solar energy technologies, investment and policies. ISES President Dr. David Renné moderates this webinar and brings in participants questions throughout. Register here !

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Dr. David Renné – President, International Solar Energy Society

Previous Editions of the Report

Renewables 2015 Global Status Report : Archive

  • Download the full report :
  • E
  • K
  • Download the full report (low res, 12 MB) :
  • E
  • Download the infographics :
  • E
  • Download the presentation :
  • E

Renewables 2012 Global Status Report

  • Download the full report :
  • E

Renewables 2010 Global Status Report

Renewables 2007 Global Status Report

Renewables 2005 Global Status Report

Renewables 2014 Global Status Report

  • Download the key findings :
  • E
  • A

Renewables 2013 Global Status Report

  • Download the key findings :
  • E
  • Download the full report :
  • E

Renewables 2011 Global Status Report

  • Download the report :
  • E

Renewables 2009 Global Status Report

Renewables 2006 Global Status Report

The Renewables Global Status Report (GSR) is a sister publication to the Global Trends in Renewable Energy Investment Report (GTR) produced by Frankfurt School UNEP Collaborating Centre for Climate & Sustainable Energy Finance. The most recent edition of the report, launched in 2016, is available here.