GSR 2016 Webinar Series – Hosted with Clean Energy Solutions Center

Join us to find out what made 2016 another record year for renewables. Learn about how increased additions of solar PV and wind in the electricity sector have driven other energy sectors and how 2015 marks where, for the first time, investment by developing countries surpassed that of industrialised countries.

 

1.Domination of Renewables  

 

2.Community Renewable Energy: Citizens involvement in the energy transition

 

3.Renewables Rising:  The role of grid integration

 

4.Global View on Solar Heating and Cooling: Market, Industry and Policy

 

5.Off-Grid Renewables: Energy Access and  Market Opportunity

 

6.The Global Status of Renewable Energy


  • Domination of Renewables

June 1, 2016

16:00 CEST / 10:00 EDT / 22:00 CST

 

Learn about how increased additions of PV and wind in the electricity sector have driven other energy sectors.  Discover how the energy and power markets are increasingly affected by renewable energy uptake.  Hear how investment in developing countries surpassed that of industrialised countries for the first time. A special section will look at the evolution of renewables in the North American context.  There will be plenty of time for questions.

 

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Gregory Wetstone – President & CEO, American Council On Renewable Energy (ACORE)

 

Register here. The webinar recording is now available here.


  • Community Renewable Energy: Citizens involvement in the energy transition 

June 16, 2016

9:00 CEST  / 3:00 EDT / 15:00 CST

 

This webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at the role of renewables in the community power.  As REN21’s 2016 report shows, community energy initiatives are increasingly becoming a least-cost option for power supply for households and small businesses, and particularly in rural, off-grid locales.   We will discuss what is needed to support community energy to realise its full potential. For further information visit the CESC webinar page.

 

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Dirk Vansintjan – President, REScoop.eu

 

The webinar recording is now available here.


  • Renewables Rising:  The role of grid integration

June 30, 2016

2:00 CEST  / 20:00 EDT (29 June)  / 8:00 CST

 

This webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at renewables and grid integration. China has ordered power transmission companies to provide grid connectivity for all renewable power generation sources and end a bottleneck that has left a large amount of clean power idle. Hear about what this means for renewables in China, the opportunities and challenges, and its significance for the sector as a whole. For further information visit the CESC webinar page.

 

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Mr. Li Junfeng– Director General of National Center for Climate Change Strategy and International Cooperation (NCSC)

 

Register here

 


  • Global View on Solar Heating and Cooling: Market, Industry and Policy

June 30, 2016

14:00 CEST / 12:00 UTC

 

The two most comprehensive studies on the Solar Heating and Cooling Sector were published in early June 2016: REN21’s Renewables 2016 Global Status Report (GSR) and Solar Heat Worldwide from the IEA Solar Heating and Cooling programme (IEA SHC). This webinar will highlight the key data and findings of these two studies looking at new installations, prospering applications, market barriers, industry trends, costs of solar heat and jobs. The webinar is jointly organised by REN21 Secretariat and IEA SHC, the Technology Collaboration Programme of the International Energy Agency.

 

Three expert panellist speakers will present during the 1.5 hours seminar:

 

Speakers: 

Rana Adib– Research Coordinator , REN21 Secretariat

Werner Weiss – Director , AEE INTEC

Bärbel Epp – News Editor, Solarthermalworld.org

 

The webinar will be moderated by Nigel Cotton, Programme Director at the European Copper Institute and initiator of solarthermalworld.org.

 

Register here

 


  • Off-Grid Renewables: Energy Access and  Market Opportunity

July 6, 2016
14:00 CEST  / 8:00 EDT  / 20:00 CST

 

This webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at off-grid renewables and their role in increasing energy access.  The explosive growth of the sector and the market opportunities that the off-grid sector offers will also be discussed.  For further information visit the CESC webinar page.

 

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Kristina Skierka – Campaign Director, Power for All

 

Register here

 


  • The Global Status of Renewable Energy

July 19, 2016
15:00 CEST  / 13:00 GMT

 

Join us to find out what made 2016 another record year for renewables and for solar in particular.

 

In 2015 the solar PV market saw a 25% increase over 2014 levels to reach a record 50 GW lifting the global PV total to 227 GW. Solar hot water capacity increased as well with an end of year total of 435 GWth. The webinar will begin with an overview of REN21’s newly released Renewables 2016 Global Status Report and will then look at the expanding role of solar in the power and heating and cooling sector.

 

Christine Lins, Executive Secretary of REN21 will highlight the latest data on solar energy technologies, investment and policies. ISES President Dr. David Renné moderates this webinar and brings in participants questions throughout. Register here !

 

Speakers: 

Christine Lins – Executive Secretary, REN21

Dr. David Renné – President, International Solar Energy Society