The Steering Committee

The multi-stakeholder Steering Committee is the central governing entity of REN21 and is composed of up to 50 members who duly reflect the membership base of REN21.

Composed of distinguished individuals from various geographical and institutional backgrounds, the Steering Committee is a nodal point for the relevant actors in the global renewable energy policy arena, from national governments, international organisations, industry associations, science and academia, NGOs, and members at large.

Currently, the REN21 Steering Committee is composed of the following actors:


First NameLast NameAffiliation
Arthouros ZervosNational Technical University of Athens

Industry Associations

First NameLast NameAffiliationJob title
DouglasBruceGlobal Solar CouncilCo-Chairman
PetersKoenGOGLAExecutive Director
SteveSawyerGWECSecretary General
MaritBrommerIGAExecutive Director
RichardTaylorIHAChief Executive
VigottiRobertoRES4MEDSecretary General
RemigijusLapinskasWorld Bioenergy AssociationPresident
StefanGsängerWWEASecretary General

International Organisations

First NameLast NameAffiliationJob title
Yongping ZhaiADBTechnical Advisor Energy Sector Group
MahamaKappiahECREEEExecutive Director
PaulaAbreu MarquesEuropean CommissionHead of Unit, Renewables and CCS Policy, DG ENER
PaoloFranklIEAHead of Renewable Energy Division
FrancescoLa CameraIRENADirector General
AhmedBadrRCREEEExecutive Director
Mark RadkaUNEPChief, Energy and Climate Branch
MarcelAlersUNDP Principal Technical Adviser
TareqEmtairahUNIDODirector of the Department of Energy
ElisaPortaleWorld BankSenior Energy Specialist


First NameLast NameAffiliationJob title
TaniaRödiger-VorwerkBMZDeputy Director General
João GenésioDe Almeida FilhoBrazil, Ministry of External RelationsDirector Department of Energy
Maria NilausTarpDenmark -Ministry of Energy, Utilities and ClimateHead of the International Department
AnandKumarIndia, Ministry of New and Renewable EnergySecretary
ØivindJohansenNorway, Ministry of Petroleum and EnergyAssistant Director General
LeonardoBeltranSENER (Mexico)
DiegoVázquez TeijeiraSpain, Ministry of Energy, Tourism and Digital AgendaDeputy Director General for International Energy Relations; Secretary of State for Energy
Thani AhmedAl ZeyoudiUEA, Ministry of Foreign AffairsHead of Directorate of Energy & Climate Change – Ministry of Foreign Affairs
GriffinThompsonUSA – State DepartmentDirector of the Office of Electricity and Energy Efficiency at the US Department of State



Rianvan Staden 100% REPlatform Coordinator
StefanSingerCANSenior Advisor
ChristineLinsGWNETExecutive Director
EmaniKumarICLEIExecutive Director, ICLEI South Asia
SenaAloukaJVEExecutive Director
IbrahimTogolaMali Folkecenter (MFC)Director
HarryLehmannWCREExecutive Chairman
StefanSchurigWorld Future CouncilDirector Climate, Energy and Cities
JenniferLaykeWRIGlobal Director, Energy Program

Science & Academia

First NameLast NameAffiliationJob title
Nicolás R.Di SbroiavaccaFundación BarilochePresident
NebojsaNakicenovicIIASADeputy Director/Deputy CEO
Doug ArentNRELExecutive Director of the joint Institute for Strategic Energy Analysis
ThembakaziMaliSANEDIInterim CEO

Members at large

First NameLast NameAffiliation
MichaelEckhartCitigroup, Inc.
Mohamed El-AshryUnited Nations Foundation
DavidHalesSecond Nature
Kirsty HamiltonChatham House
PeterRaeREN Alliance

REN21 Flagship Products

Subscribe to the REN21 Newsletter

Connecting the Dots: Convening multi-stakeholders on renewable energy

Skip to toolbar
agence web paris agence web paris